Johann Kriegler (South Africa) Retired judge of South Africa’s highest court and Constitutional Court of South Africa on its foundation in 1994. In that year he chaired the first commission of enquiry (into prison violence) appointed by President Nelson Mandela. He headed the South African Independent Electoral Commission through his country’s liberation elections in 1994 and was instrumental in establishing its first permanent elections agency, which he chaired for a number of years. Subsequently he has engaged in electoral missions under the auspices of the United Nations, the African Union and other international agencies, inter alia in Timor-Leste, Liberia, Sierra Leone, Zambia, Angola, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Iraq, Pakistan and Afghanistan. Justice Kriegler is author of a standard textbook on criminal procedure and has lectured in recent years on judicial and electoral matters on five continents.

Professor Maurice Copithorne(Canada)President of the Iran Tribunal Truth Commission Professor Copithorne’s impressive career spans six decades, during which he specialized in international law. After being called to the BC Bar in 1956, Professor Copithorne joined the Canadian Foreign Service. He retired from the Foreign Service in 1986 to take a visiting professorship position with the UBC Faculty of Law and has been with the Faculty ever since. In addition to teaching, he has held a variety of external appointments including United Nations Special Representative on the Human Rights Situation in Iran (1995-2002). Copithorne has received several awards and honours including being appointed Queen’s Counsel in 1981, the Great Trekker Award from the University of British Columbia Alma Mater Society in 1997, and the Renata Shearer Award for “outstanding contributions to human rights” in 2000.
Professor Maurice Copithorn